Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: T. Bower, P. D. Moehlman, K. M. Helgen, T. E. Lacher, Jr., W. P. Smith, T. J. O'Shea, V. Sánchez-Cordero (Chair).

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Hornaday Student Conservation Award. This year there were two nominations submitted for the Hornaday Award, and two nominations submitted for the Leopold Award. Nominations for both Awards were received and evaluated by the committee. The Committee supported the nomination of one of the nominees for the Hornaday, and for the Leopold Awards unanimously, and it was forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. The Awards will be presented at the banquet at the 2011 Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$300.00 for the Leopold Award plague and \$300.00 for the Hornaday Award plague.

Respectfully submitted,

Víctor Sánchez-Cordero Chair, Conservation Awards Committee unmpres@unm.edu